Chris Botti at the Galveston 1894 Grand Opera House

Galveston 1894 Opera HouseKathy and I went to hear Chris Botti at the 1895 Grand Opera House in Galveston. That had to be one of the best performances that I have ever been to. Amazing, emotional playing. An outstanding band. The Grand is such an intimate hall. Excellent acoustics. Such history. An excellent venue for this. This was our 2014 Christmas present to one another. And I can tell you that I was anxiously awaiting this show!

Chris Botti plays beautifully and surrounds himself with amazing musicians. If you have the chance to hear him in concert, do it. And if it is a small venue, even better.

The furthest seat from the stage is 70 feet at The Grand. So you can see well from any seat. We sat in the third balcony and the acoustics were excellent. Parking is easy. Street parking or lots are only a block away.

I have to say again that I have been to many many live concerts and this one has to be at the top or close to the top in terms of intimacy, playing, emotion and musicality. Botti takes many more musical chances live than on his recordings. And he is successful at doing so!  His tone is beautiful. He goes from aggressive playing to beautiful, lyrical sensitive playing.

Like I said, this has to be one of the best performances that I have been to. I am grateful that I had the opportunity. Go hear him play.

2 thoughts on “Chris Botti at the Galveston 1894 Grand Opera House

  1. Pingback: Kayaking the Salt Marshes of Hitchcock, Texas – Bayou Vista | Kayaking Texas

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment or thought.

