Co-Directing the Spring Branch Boys Choir

I am so excited to have the opportunity to Co-Direct the Spring Branch ISD Boys Choir. My friend Faith Hebard has directed and managed this organization very well for a long time.  It was great to see her work with the boys today in the first general rehearsal. The boys are amazingly talented and I welcome the opportunity to help them develop their talents and make music together. There will be 3 performances this fall / Chirstmas. And 2-3 next Spring. The music work load this year for me with this group, my responsibilities at Westwood and my private studio are demanding. I am so excited to be doing all of this.

One of the things I am doing to prepare for this task is to re-read Inside the Elementary School Choir by Patty Bourne, and I picked up  Andy Beck’s Vocalize and lots of internet reading about choir rehearsal and vocal pedagogy.

If you have suggestions on good sources of information that would help me teach, coach, and direct these boys, and my students at Westwood I would welcome your input.

If you would like to audition for the Spring Branch Boys Choir, please contact me. I would be delighted to help you. – Larry

About the Spring Branch Boys Choir – The Spring Branch Boys Choir was formed in 1983. Over the years, the choir has enjoyed performances at locations in and around Houston including Memorial City Mall, the Houston Zoo, Bayou Bend Gardens, and the Alley Theater.  The SBBC has also toured throughout Texas and the continental US for featured performances and competitions in Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, and San Antonio as well as Disney World, Disney Land, Washington, D.C., and Boston, MA.  Besides great performing opportunities, the Spring Branch Boys Choir presents a chance to meet and make friends with boys from across the Spring Branch school district.  These are friendships that many of our boys keep for a lifetime.

Here are some of me favorite boys choirs, please tell me yours:

Libera

 

One thought on “Co-Directing the Spring Branch Boys Choir

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment or thought.

