Build Up Your High Range Trumpet Chops with These Exercises

Frank Brown Lip Slurs

Whether you are a pro on the road or an intermediate or advanced player, you need to uses these lip slur studies. Frank Brown was a fantastic trumpet player in Cincinnati. Taught at Cincinnati Conservatory of Music. Played with the Cincinnati Symphony. One of his students wrote out these lip slurs from his lessons with Frank. They really work. I play them and I have my advanced students do them. The results are goodFrank Brown Lip Drills p4. Let me tell you that they will tire you out.

Frank Brown Lip Drills p1

Frank Brown Lip Drills p2Frank Brown Lip Drills p3Frank Brown Lip Drills p5

Author: Larry Shudra

I help children and adults learn to play and enjoy music. I have been successful helping those with learning challenges to read and play music successfully. I currently teach music in Spring Branch ISD, Houston, Texas. I also teach a small number of students privately-contact me for openings. My wife, Kathy Shudra is an Educational Therapist in Houston. BME Baylor University. Walnut Hills HS alumni. I also enjoy kayaking, the outdoors, woodworking, home remodeling and traveling around Texas.

5 thoughts on “Build Up Your High Range Trumpet Chops with These Exercises”

  1. Frankie was my trumpet teacher…50 years ago…was pretty disappointed in me when I decided not to make trumpet my life…which was a big mistake…year ago, picked up horn again (which Frankie actually told my parents to buy me) and just gotten to the point where I’m getting that sound again but chops get tired after a couple hours…sooooooo, was looking for something besides the Arban stuff I’ve been doing (which was what Frankie had me playing)…found this…thanks man…yeah, and Frankie was the best in every possible way…in my head in a good way whenever I’m playing šŸ˜‰

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment or thought.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.